ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR GAZETTEE

EXTRAORDINARY

Published By Authority

Port Blair, the 8th September, 1963/12th Bhadra 1885.

ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR ADMINISTRATION Chief Commissioner's Secretariat

NOTIFICATION

Port Blair, the 8th September, 1963/12th Bhadra 1885.

No. 115/47-5/60-DH.- WHEREAS the forest land described in the Schedule below are not included in any reserved forests;

AND WHEREAS the Assistant Commissioner (Settlement) Port Blair was directed by the Chief Commissioner, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, to make a formal inquiry into and record the nature and extent of the rights of Government and of private persons in or over the said forest lands as required by Sub-Section (3) of section 29 of the Indian Forest Act, 1927, and the said officer has after making the inquiry recorded that no Private person has any kind of rights in or over the said forest lands and that the said forest lands are the property of Government;

NOW, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-sections (1) and (2) of Section 29 of the said Act read with the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs Notification No. 69/49/50-AN dated the 7th November, 1951 the Chief Commissioner, Andaman and Nicobar Islands has been pleased to declare the said forest lands to be protected forests to which the provisions of Chapter IV of the said Act shall apply with effect from the date of publication of this notification in the Gazette.

SCHEDULE

I. NORTH ANDAMAN PROTECTED FOREST:-

This protected forest includes:-

(1) The entire area of the following Islands:-

S.No	Name of the Islands	S.No	Name of the Islands
1	Channel	12	Shearme
2	Landfall	13	Sugar Loaf
3	East	14	Jub Jub
4	Pecock	15	Rowe
5	West	16	Snark
6	Whit Cliff	17	Kwang Tung
7	Thorn Hill	18	Latonche
8	Reef	19	North Reef
9	Mayo	20	Interview
10	Paget	21	Boudeville
11	Point	22	Sea Serpent

23	Snake	40	Craggy
24	Buchanan	41	Bamboo
25	Tree	42	Blister
26	Excelsior [Table Island Group]	43	Curlew
27	Delgarno	44	Goose
28	Tribby	45	Gandel
29	Temple	46	Stewart
30	Turtle	47	Dot
31	Narcondom	48	Oyster
32	Jungle	49	Oliver
33	North	50	Sound
34	Wharf	51	Orchid
35	South	52	Grulew [Island barkely Group]
36	Ox	53	Swamp
37	Chatham	54	Dottrel
38	Brush	55	Egg
39	Ross	56	Aves

P. . The area under North Andaman main island excluding the area of the following 28 ages.

1	Shyam Nagar	15	Keralapur
2	Radha Nagar	16	Durgapur
3	Swaraj Gram	17	Shispur
4	Milan Gram	18	Kalipur
5	Lakshmipur	19	Kishorinagar
6	Madhupur	20	Paranghata
7	Krishnapuri	21	Navagram
8	Rajedrapalli	22	Nichintapur
9	Deshabandugram	23	Kalighat
10	Subhas Gram	24	Madhyamgram
11	Sita Nagar	25	Jagannath Dera
12	Kudhirampur	26	Ram Nagar
13	Ram Krishnagram	27	Mohanpur
14	Vidyasagarpalli	28	Aerial Bay

P. . The area under Smith Island excluding the area of village Sagar Dwip.

II. MIDDLE ANDAMAN PROTECTED FOREST:

This protected forest includes:-

(1) The entire area of the following islands:-

S.No.	Name of the Islands	S.No.	Name of the Islands
1	Entrance	6	Bennett
2	Surat	7	South Reef
3	Speke	8	Anderson
4	Ranger	9	Mask
5	Roper	10	Tuft

11	Homp	17	Porlob
12	Flat	18	Guitar
13	Gurjan	19	Round
14	Parkinson	20	Barren
15	Oyster	21	Chengappa
16	Cone		

P. . The area under Middle Andaman main island excluding the area of the following 44 villages:-

1	Nimbutala	23	Urmilapur
2	Amkunj	24	Kalsi
3	Panchavati	25	Bangaon
4	Padmanabhpuram	26	Syamkund
5	Sivpuram	27	Kadamtala
6	Tiruvanchikkulam	28	Uttara
7	Ramchandra nagar	29	Santhanu
8	Dharampur	30	Koshalya nagar
9	Santhipur	31	Shaktigarh
10	Swadeshnagar	32	Mayabunder
11	Rangat	33	Pokha Dera
12	Janakpur	34	Danapur
13	Dasharatpur	35	Rampur
14	Sabari	36	Lucknow
15	Sitapur	37	Latau
16	Mithila	38	Devpur
17	Rampur	39	Webi
18	Parnasala	40	Pahelgaon
19	Bharatpur	41	Hanspuri
20	Vishnupur	42	Chainpuri
21	Bakultala	43	Pudi,adirao
22	Lakshmanpur	44	Tugapur

(3) The area under Long Island excluding the area of the village Long Island.

By Order

P.V. APRAIM
Asst. Secretary to the Chief Commissioner
Andaman and Nicobar Islands.